MEETING MINUTES

May 26, 2011

Orcas Island Park and Recreation District Commission Special Meeting, Thursday, May 26, 2011 Orcas Island Public School Library, 557 School Road, Eastsound 5::30 P.M. - 7:30 P.M.

This meeting was scheduled to convene simultaneously with the regular school board meeting so that OIPRD business could be discussed and addressed with 3 or more commissioners in attendance at the school board meeting. The OIPRD secretary had been directed to mail a letter of intent in the matter of OIPRD's interest in Buck Park at the special meeting convened on May 18. Now the school board had included consideration of the letter in the agenda for this meeting. As the school board agenda is full of monthly recurring reports and budget reviews, and as this meeting was being conducted by the school board of directors, and not the OIPRD board, and as the matter pertaining to OIPRD was a single agenda item; then, only that matter is recorded herein. The minutes for the full meeting of the school board are available from the OISD Secretary.

I. CALL TO ORDER (5:30)

Jim Bredouw, Acting Chairman

Roll call:

Seat 1: Vicki Vandermay - absent

Seat 2: Bob Eagan - present

Seat 3: Martha Farish - present Seat 4: Jim Bredouw - present

Seat 5: Ian Lister - present

II. UNFINISHED BUSINESS (6:05)

Under the school board's agenda heading of: GENERAL BUSINESS

*16. Discuss letter from Orcas Island Parks and Recreation Board of Commissioners and determine OISD

Discussion: OISD directors seemed to agree that the principle of OIPRD's obtaining dominion over and responsibility for Buck Park was in everyone's best interest. Director Scott Lancaster addressed Martha and asked if there was any urgency resulting from a grant that OIPRD has been perusing with USTA (Tennis) and the Orcas Tennis Association. Martha expressed that good faith would be sufficient to proceed with the USTA grant. Scott Lancaster noted some possible public reservation regarding the use of alcohol at Buck Park, with it's proximity to the school. It had been pointed out earlier that the school's gym teachers, who are accustomed to using Buck Park to conduct classes, would need some special consideration.

Motion (School Board) paraphrased by OISD Secretary: to move forward in efforts to negotiate mutually acceptable conditional use language, as well as mutually acceptable language addressing a reversion of the OISD deed to Buck Park in order to ultimately convey said deed to the Orcas Parks and Recreation District.

- Janet Brownell, Scott Lancaster
- deliberation: none
- unanimously aye

At this time (6:30) the OIPRD commissioners convened to an adjoining room of the library building, announcing this to the assembly. The minutes herein after are of this portion of the meeting, with Martha, Jim, Bob, and Ian in attendance.

III. NEW BUSINESS

INTER NASHCY

action: Ian is to distribute by e-mail the copies of SJ Island Rec's 2 inter-local agreements so that the OIPRD commissioners can begin drafting the Buck Park agreement by example. Ian is to insert an item regarding this in the June 9 RPM Agenda, new business.

Discussion: Port of Orcas loan to OIPRD for interim operation. The Port will meet on June 9 after the OIPRD RPM so a special meeting will likely be necessary.

Discussion: latest budget of 0525 2011, Ian to insert an item in June 9 RPM agenda for in depth review and discussion of the interim budget.

Discussion: Program priorities, who will pick up Fall Soccer? Funhouse? OIPRD, managed by Funhouse?

Discussion: Buck Park maintenance, rate structure under OISD

action: Bob is to explore the Skate Park, OICF endowment, and the disposition of the Skate Park non-profit. Bob is to explore the legality of alcohol at Buck Park through Randy Gaylord.

IV. ADJOURNMENT (3:30)

Motion: To adjourn

- Ian, Bob
- deliberations: none
- unanimously aye

Addenda:

Regular Public Meeting minutes for May 26, 2011

Approved by motion on this 29 th day of JUNE, 2011

Signed and attested this 12 th day of July , 2011

Ian Lister, Commissioner #5,

Secretary

Martha Farish, Commissioner #3,

Chair