# Meeting Minutes January 22, 2018

Orcas Island Park and Recreation District Commission Special Public Meeting, January 22, 2018 Deer Harbor Fire Station 9:00 A.M. - 4:00 P.M.

#### **I. CALL TO ORDER** – 9:15 am

Bob Eagan, Chairman, present

Roll call:

Seat 1: Vicki Vandermay, present

Seat 2: Bob Eagan, present

Seat 3: Martha Farish, present

Seat 4: Justin Paulsen, present

Seat 5: Deb Jones, present

Staff present: Kim Kimple (Interim Director)

Facilitator: Roger Paulsen

#### II. PUBLIC COMMENT

No public present.

#### III. SPECIAL AGENDA -WORKSHOP

### 1. Celebrate Accomplishments

Commissioners reflected on OIPRD accomplishments to-date, highlighting the success of refurbishing Buck Park in 2017.

#### 2. Review Survey Results

The results from the "How Are We Doing" survey were reviewed and discussed. The survey will remain open for additional input and Kim will work on a translation and distribution for the Spanish speaking community.

#### 3. Vision Workshop

Commissioners and Kim participated in a "5-year vision workshop" where the collective outcome included the desire to strengthen community relationships, provide excellent stewardship of park facilities, be the recreational 'heart' of the island, expand the reach of the organization (both demographically and geographically), operate an efficient and effective organization, and provide dynamic, rational, and creative programming.

Special Public Meeting January 22, 2018

## 4. Contradictions Workshop

The group worked to indicate foreseeable obstacles.

## 5. Strategic Directions Workshop

Through the strategic directions workshop practice, the group found collective focus in the vision to expand community connections, increase organizational effectiveness, maintain public confidence, and strengthen volunteers.

## VI. ADJOURNMENT MOTION

With no further agenda, comments, or discussion, Justin moved to adjourn, seconded by Deb at 3:50 pm, unanimously approved.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:50 pm.

#### Addenda:

No attachments.

Public Meeting minutes for January 22, 2018

Approved by motion on this 08th day of February, 2018

Signed and attested this 08th day of February, 2018

Justin Paulsen #4,

Secretary

Bob Eagan, Commissioner #2,

Chair